Woody Guthrie’s Centennial Celebration continues on April 21st with the release of Mermaid Avenue III (Mermaid Avenue: The Complete Sessions). Following the release of Yim Yames, Jay Farrar, Anders Parker, and Will Johnson’s collaboration New Multitudes, Billy Bragg & Wilco announced their upcoming release of a four disc set. Mermaid Avenue: The Complete Sessions will contain the two previous volumes of music of Woody Guthrie lyrics, the making of Mermaid Avenue documentary Man In The Sand, and a third volume of 17 previously unreleased cuts from their infamous sessions. Both Volume 1 and 2 were nominated for Grammy’s and brought America’s Father of Folk back into focus. Whether a your a fan or not Billy Bragg & Wilco ability to make music from Woody’s lyrics are what legends are made of. Check out the track listings for the unreleased cuts below as well as a short from the documentary Man In The Sand, a live version of California Stars, and Wilco’s pre-released version of The Jolly Banker.

01. Bugeye Jim
02. When The Roses Bloom Again
03. Gotta Work
04. My Thirty Thousand
05. Ought To Be Satisfied Now
06. Listening To The Wind That Blows
07. Go Down To The Water
08. Chain Of Broken Hearts
09. Jailcell Blues
10. Don’t You Marry
11. Give Me A Nail
12. The Jolly Banker
13. Union Prayer
14. Be Kind To The Boy On The Road
15. Ain’ta Gonna Grieve
16. Tea Bag Blues
17. I’m Out To Get

About The Author


Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.